Tags

, , , , ,

What: The USPTO’s next Biotechnology, Chemical and Pharmaceutical Customer Partnership (BCP) Meeting

When: April 7th from 11:00am – 5:00pm Eastern Standard Time (U.S.) (to convert to the time in your location, use time converter here).

Where: Online via webinar or in Alexandria, VA (U.S.A.) and, at the same time, from 9:00am – 3:00pm at Denver, CO. Make sure to register to attend (even if via webinar)- send your RSVP via e-mail to:  USPTOBCP1600@USPTO.GOV (link sends e-mail).  Register by April, 3rd and make sure to include “BCP Registration” in the email subject line. Also include the personal and contact information noted below in your email.

Determining patent subject matter eligibility can be prickly, but the USPTO hopes to clarify this and other issues at the next BPC forum on April 7th.

Determining patent subject matter eligibility can be prickly, but the USPTO hopes to clarify this and other issues at the next BCBCP forum on April 7th.

The USPTO’s next Biotechnology, Chemical and Pharmaceutical Customer Partnership (BCP) Meeting will be held on April 7th, 2015.  You can attend the meeting online via webinar or in-person at the USPTO Headquarters (Alexandria, VA) and the Rocky Mountain Regional Office (Denver Satellite Office). During this BCP forum, participants will be able to interact with Office personnel in person at both locations, or alternatively, via webcast.

The USPTO set up the Biotechnology, and Chemical and Pharmaceutical Customer Partnership to create a collaborative forum for USPTO customers in this industry sector to share ideas and insights with USPTO staff. The BCBCP is intended to be informal in nature and will include participants from across the industry. Some of the topics that will be discussed at the April 7th meeting include:

  • Patent Quality Initiatives;
  • Patent Term Adjustment and Patent Term Extension;
  • Sequence Filings; and
  • Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility (101)

See below for a detailed agenda, with times:

Agenda & Schedule

9:00 – 9:20AM (MDT)
11:00 – 11:20AM (EDT)
Welcoming and Opening Remarks Jerry Lorengo, Director,
Daniel Sullivan, Director,
Wanda Walker, Director; Michael Carone, Regional Manager,
9:20 – 10:30 AM (MDT)
11:20 – 12:30 PM (EDT)
Patent Quality Initiatives

Valencia Martin Wallace, Deputy Commissioner for Patent Quality,

Esther Kepplinger, Chief Patent Counselor, Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati; Robert Stoll Partner, Drinker Biddle

10:30 – 11:00 AM (MDT)
12:30 – 1:00 PM (EDT)
Break (Lunch for Alexandria)
11:00 – 11:50 AM (MDT)
1:00 – 1:50 PM (EDT)
Recent Updates in Patent Term Adjustment and Patent Term Extension Mary Till Senior Advisor, OPLA, USPTO
Kery Fries Senior Advisor, OPLA, USPTO
11:50 AM – 12:50 PM (MDT)
1:50 – 2:50 PM (EDT)
Filing Sequence Listings in International and National Stage Applications Susan Wolski International Patent Legal Administration, USPTO
12:50 – 1:20 PM (MDT)
2:50 – 3:20 PM (EST)
Break (Lunch for Denver)
1:20 – 2:50 PM (MDT)
3:20 – 4:50 PM (EDT)
Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Raul Tamayo, Senior Legal Advisor, OPLA, USPTO;
June Cohan, Legal Advisor, OPLA, USPTO
2:50 – 3:00 PM (MDT) 4:50 – 5:00 PM (EDT) Closing Remarks/Discussion Michael Carone, Regional Manager, USPTO;
Jerry Lorengo, Director;
Daniel Sullivan, Director;
Wanda Walker, Director;

Registration Information

Make sure to e-mail USPTOBCP1600@USPTO.GOV (link sends e-mail) to register by April, 3rd. Also make sure to include “BCP Registration” in the email subject line. In the email body,  include the following information:

  •  Your name, title and organization;
  •  Contact information (e-mail, phone, etc.); and
  •  Your attending location (Alexandria, Denver, or online).

The physical address for the two in-person locations are:

Headquarters Location:
USPTO Headquarters
Madison Auditorium
600 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314

Rocky Mountain Regional Office Location:
Longs Peak A Conf. Room (2nd Floor)
Byron G. Rogers Federal Building
1961 Stout Street Denver, CO 80294

Directions and Parking information

Headquarters Location: USPTO Headquarters, Alexandria, Virginia

 Directions: http://www.uspto.gov/about/contacts/locations/directions.jsp

 Campus map: http://www.uspto.gov/about/locations/alexandriaoffice.jsp

Parking options: http://www.uspto.gov/about/contacts/locations/directions.jsp#heading-6

Denver location: Byron G. Rogers Federal Building, 1961 Stout Street, Denver

 Parking Options and Building Access:

http://www.uspto.gov/about-us/uspto-locations/denver-colorado

Advertisements